In 75 days…

run One of my New Year’s Resolutions is to run a half marathon. I half-heartedly committed on some nike+ website to run one but I wasn’t fully committed in my head, much less my heart. But as of yesterday…I did it! I signed up for my first half marathon! I’m pretty excited about it although rather nervous at the same time.

One of the things I’m looking forward to is being a runner with an entry form again. My dad always says that is the difference between a jogger and a runner; an entry form. I find that when I have the pressure of a race coming up, I’m a lot more diligent about longer runs and faster runs. Without a deadline, I become rather malaise about the whole thing.

January was a bit of a rough month, with jetlag, cold weather, report season, other work stress and not a lot of motivation around. I know.. cry me a river. But I can see February at the end of this week and I welcome it whole heartedly! Yes, I know it’s still dark and cold but there is just something about me and January that has never gotten along.

So I’m researching training plans, figuring out ways to modify my diet, coming up with the best cross training exercises and well.. looking up pretty running clothes.

My race date is April 14th. Only 10 weeks, 75 days, 1800 hours away! It’s outside of Tokyo and during sakura season (cherry blossom time). Should be all kinds of pretty!

Anyway I’m back to being a wannabe runner with an actual purpose.. so that’s pretty exciting!

Leave a Reply

