I like Nike

nikeAfter I finished the Ease into 10K program, I started looking for a new app that would track my runs. There are a lot of things on the market and they all have their benefits… endomondo, runkeeper, runtastic, etc but the one I’ve fallen in love with is the basic Nike+ running app. It tracks my mileage and pace and time. It plays my music. It will talk to me as much as I want it to. It has a place to store “power songs” for when I need an extra boost during a tough run. At the end it gives me my stats and has some athletic celebrity tell me how well I did, whether that’s “way to go for just getting out there” or “congratulations on running your fastest 10K”.. I find it encouraging. There is also the added benefit of publishing your results directly to facebook so that your real life friends can see how your running is going.. but I’ve turned that one off.

I have also recently started dabbling with the Nike+ community. You can sign in online and it will show you all sorts of fun things like how fast you are compared to women your age.. assuming you’re a woman. Or how often and how far you run compared to those your age. It shows you how many miles the Nike community has run in the past week/month etc. There are ways to set goals, for example the one I’m currently working on is to run more frequently. You can make your account social so you can interact with your friends. I haven’t done this yet. It kind of scares me. You can also set something up where you compete in a game of tag with friends all over the place. Maybe one day…

Anyway Nike+ running has been working a “make it count” campaign for 2013. There are pages where you can pledge to sign up for 10Ks or half marathons or full ones. There are challenges and different running things all the time. Recently they started a 10K Run on March 9/10. All you have to do is sign up and then run 10K during that weekend, synch your run and you’ll get a t-shirt and everything! I do kinda like this global running community idea. The cost is $40 and 10 of that goes to The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Yes Nike is probably benefitting too much from this but you get a t-shirt if you synch your run… and I do many things for t-shirts. True, I’m paying for a t-shirt and going on a run by myself but .. well for some reason I think it’s a cool idea.

And that’s pretty much all I have to say about that.

29020_10151388995652976_1090603163_nP.S. If you decide to sign up for the 10K as well.. do let me know!

Leave a Reply

