Running Rambles

run Long run days can be rather unsettling. I ran 15km today and overall it was a-okay. I veered off my regular laps-of-the-park plan and ran all over the place. The sun was shining and the air was cool enough that I was comfortable in my tights, running jacket and headband. I have been adopting the Jeff Galloway approach to long runs.. 5 minutes run and 1 minute walk.. it’s really rather incredible how the walking breaks don’t actually cause me to lose much time and I’m really rather quick for the running parts..

But for whatever reason today I just couldn’t get into my groove too much. I think because I was making up my route so I stayed very focused and aware of distance. The one benefit to running in my park is that I can shut my brain off to the fact that I’m running and just get lost in music and thoughts. I just kept thinking about how far I was going, how much further I was going to have to run, how slow I was feeling and how I’m not sure I’ll be able to run 21.1 of these kilometre things in a decent time in April. A bit of a Debbie Downer in my brain I think.

On the bright side the new route I ran today had some hills… (imagine!) which were a bit of a shock to the system. I actually kind of liked it. Presents a good challenge. Plus it’s not good to stay on the flat ground all the time so it was nice to see that hills do exist in my area of the city.

I know that so much of running is mental and I think I let things get the best of me today. Nothing bad happened with my run except that I was comparing today to what I was imagining would happen in April. I still have time! This is a good thing. I’m where I need to be now. I just need to add a few more miles and get a bit faster.. this is all very doable.

So I’m off to make myself a smoothie and remind myself of all the reasons I like running.

Leave a Reply

