Psyching Up… Yikes!

So my first half marathon is on Sunday. I suppose I could say I’m a tad anxious about it. My training has been going but not going all that well. I think a week off was probably not the best idea but that’s life.. Hopefully I didn’t do too much damage. I ran a final 10K on Monday morning and have just been doing cross-training activities this week, like Zumba. I’ve got my “outfit” ready and am just working on the perfect “psych up” playlist.

I’m actually looking forward to being done this whole thing. I don’t know what happened but in the training process I seem to have lost my love of running. I mean, I still love being out there sometimes but I somewhat resent having to run certain distances and care about time etc. I want to just be able to run. Plus I think I’m kind of scared of the whole 21km thing. It’s probably going to hurt. I know I should be psyching up but I’m just documenting what’s going on in my head.

Anyway the plan of attack is to just run the thing. I’d love to say that I want to break 2 hours but realistically, that’s not going to happen. People tell me that your first half is about finishing and I know I can do that.. so that’s the plan. Hopefully I’m not the last one over the line!

We have a nice plan, my running friends and I. We’re going to take the train to the area on the Saturday, walk around one of the local parks and just have a nice day. Then after the race on Sunday we’ll be going to one of the nicest onsens in Japan. If you don’t know what an onsen is.. google it. Basically, it’s hot spring water baths. After running.. they feel so good! Excellent incentive to cross the finish line.

Alright well I’ll stop dilly dallying and get on with the important business of psyching up for this thing because hopefully, this time next week, it’ll be done and I’ll be sore but happy!

Leave a Reply

