And then I ran a half marathon…

race3 Well I did it! I completed my first half marathon!

It was a beautiful day for running and the course was gorgeous seeing as most of it was all along Japan’s coastline. I had a good group of friends with me. One guy ran the half with me and the rest of them ran and dominated the 10K.
Now it wasn’t my best run ever and I probably would have liked to do better but I’m choosing not to focus on all that went wrong or what I could have done differently and just celebrate the fact that I did it. I’m still rather blown away considering it’s only been within the last year and a half that I even started running.
The run started off really well. We were making good time and my running buddy was focused on having us keep up a reasonable time. I was a bit thrown off because there were hills. Oh there were hills! But we persevered and ran and ran. We continued to make good time. Around kilometre 15 we had to veer off the road and go into this big parking lot thing around a factory. That was rather anti climactic and I sort of hated it. Also had to insert a wee bathroom break. But continued to keep going even though it was not fun in there at all. (the factory.. not the bathroom)
Around the 17th kilometre I started to really hurt. Like really. I kept going but got rather fragile around the 19th mark. It was hard to find enough mental energy to keep pushing. I decided I hated running and never wanted to do it again.
But then kilometre 20 came up and I could see the light at the end of the tunnel. I was able to push through and got myself over that line in a time that I was fairly proud to see! (and I was the first white girl to finish! There were only 2 of us but still!)
It’s amazing how emotional running that kind of distance can be. I think I experienced everything, happiness, excitement, energy, fear, hatred, anger, resentment, and then a major rush and pure joy! No wonder I was so exhausted when it was over.
We spent the rest of the day at a fantastic buffet in a fancy pants hotel and then relaxing in the onsen. Hot spring bath overlooking the Pacific ocean.. bliss.
At this point I make no promises about future half marathons and definitely nothing about full marathons (that’s crazy!) but I am so glad that I did run that race. It was good to see what I had in me.
Now I’d better hobble off to work! Who knew there were so many stairs in Tokyo?!?
One thought on “And then I ran a half marathon…

Leave a Reply

