Keeping it Simple…

Once upon a time I had a friend who was going through a really difficult time. She felt like something was inherently wrong with her and so she went to get help. She was looking forward to getting some profound insight into her problems and difficulties but she came back somewhat disappointed. The counselor told her: eat breakfast, put on your running shoes and eat a multi vitamin.

So often our seemingly complex problems actually require very simple solutions. It’s nice when it works out that way.

Other times our complex problems really are indeed very complex and there are no immediate solutions. There are only small things we can do to get through each day.

Currently I am facing something rather large and out of my control and so naturally, I am looking for big, powerful, mind blowing solutions and answers that I cannot get on my own. Nothing I can do can fix this situation. I can’t find the cure for cancer, heck, I can’t even figure out how the gears on my bike work…

So what can I do to combat this feeling of helplessness? I can take care of the smaller details in my life… the ones that I can fix and I can control. I can focus on simple tasks and duties that if I do, I can more easily let go and trust God with the big stuff.

For me, this means that I need to tend to my heart and mind every single day. I tend to wake up feeling pretty sad and overwhelmed, I’ve written about this before. But instead of giving in to those feelings, I can turn them around by praying, reading the Bible and filling my mind with Christ’s words.. usually set to music. If I make sure that I spend time every day getting myself calmed down and focused, I am much stronger during the day.

On a more practical level, I need to make sure I’m exercising every day. It helps nothing to eat and drink as much as I want. I find that once I get outside, get those feet hitting the pavement, get my heart rate up, I’m much more alive and stronger in my body.. which transfers to my mind. I like the world more on the days I run. Simple solutions.

Now if only I could find a decent multi-vitamin.

Leave a Reply

