On the morning of my flight home for the holidays

I’ve been awake since 3:30am. My flight is not until 5pm but I get pretty geared up and excited the night before I fly and so… ping! Eyes open! Brain racing! And here we are.

My bags are packed… well.. that’s a wee lie. Bags are almost done but you know how all the last minute stuff goes. Other than that, I’m pretty much ready to go. I am more than a little bit excited to be going home for Christmas! 

It has been an incredibly busy time since August. I have been busier than I’ve ever been in my life and I’ve been challenged in all sorts of ways.  

And.

I.

Am.

Tired.

But it’s not a miserable, stressed-out, hysterical tiredness, it’s a content tiredness. I feel like things in my life here are going rather well. Usually at this time of year, I’m exhausted and frazzled and just need to escape everything. I feel rather on top of things for the first time in ages… well there is a bit of a pile of marking that will greet me upon my return but c’est la vie of la professeura de anglais.. or something like that. 

For the past couple of weeks I’ve been engaged in certain professional “dialogues”.. Some are with the admin at my school and others were led by me with the members of my department. Honestly, I feel a bit inadequate asking my colleagues to set their professional goals and then commenting on what I think their strengths and issues are (yikes!), but it happened and we all survived the experience. It was actually a really good thing and inspiring to think of new ways to improve our teaching practices etc etc. 

When meeting with my principal we were able to discuss ways of making the English Department take on a higher profile in the school. He shares my vision of making sure every student likes English and becomes a true lifelong lover of reading and writing. Lots of ideas going back and forth and I now have a few new things to begin to implement when I return. 

In brief conversations with my good friend/colleague, we came up with a couple of creative projects that will make January to June really rather fun. He and I worked on a video last spring for our seniors and we work really well together. You know when someone just “gets” what you’re thinking and then can actually make it happen? He’s that guy. I dream the dream and he does the tech stuff and it all just works. We’ve got a few new ideas up our sleeves which maybe I’ll fill you in on sometime. 

In terms of my classes– they are all gelling well and we’re having a grand ol’ time! 

So I’m tired but I’m happy. I feel like I’m leaving this place in a good place and so I’ll really be able to enjoy being home for three weeks. And while I’m sure there will be tears at the airport when I leave, who are we kidding here?!?! airports are for cry-babies… they won’t be tears about returning. That’s a nice change. 

OK off to play games with my carry-on. I fear I’ve created a rather complicated situation for myself. 

 

Leave a Reply

