“Just the Highlights Please” – The May Edition

I feel like I can say this about every month but can you really believe it is May already!?!?! I can play “this time next month” and I will be in a very different place and that excites me. Life is busy as the school year comes to an end but that’s okay. When you can see the light at the end of the tunnel… you can handle almost anything. This school year has definitely been a stretching one and I will be happy to see it packed neatly away but there’s still much to do before that happens.

PROUD OF: Almost finishing my 9th year of teaching overseas!

GRATEFUL FOR: A workplace where conversations can take place. This has been a very difficult year in some regards but I feel very supported by the admin at my school and most of the people I work with. It’s a good feeling to know that I can talk things out with people and receive support when I need it most.

LETTING GO OF: Gossip. Yeah yeah. This is a struggle especially in such a close knit community. Working together and playing together can be tricky. Recently I was reminded that it’s so much better to speak “with” a person than “about” a person. I feel like I’ve been working on this since I was about 9 years old and it doesn’t seem to get much easier. I remember learning Psalm 141:3 “Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips“. Also kind of nice to know that David had a similar problem 🙂

OBSESSED WITH: Alba and Kiss My Face products. A friend of mine started telling me all about the dangers of sulfates and… parabens (?) in hair and skin products and I quickly jumped on her bandwagon and ordered a bunch of “organic” products. I love them! Plus they are quite cheap and don’t all smell like patchouli…

EXCITED ABOUT: Summer! I am really looking forward to being back in Canada for 2 months!!! Plus I’ll be attending a workshop in Toronto for a few days (geek!) and then I have trips planned to New York City with a friend and Chicago with my sister. Two places I haven’t been to yet!

COMMITTING TO: A 20-minute 5K. Okay I said it. My running has really fallen apart lately and I am planning on coaching cross -country again and those girls are fast! So I’ve set myself a goal of being able to run a super fast 5K. I have about 3 months. I think this can happen… Goals are good and hopefully since I wrote this down and told the internet.. I’ll be more motivated to achieve it.

Leave a Reply

