Summer Summer Summer Time

Summer in Canada is coming to an end.. *sigh*. I’ve been home for nearly two months.. well two months minus two days and I really can’t believe how quickly time has flown. It’s been a great summer and I’m sad that it’s ending but I am somewhat looking forward to getting back to doing “that thing I do” and into a routine and all that jazz.

So just because I feel like telling you. Here are my Summer Highlights:

New York City – I got to see New York for the first time ever and totally see what all the fuss is about. My friend and I had a blast. We stayed in this sweet apartment/hotel on the Upper East Side and took the city by storm. Lots of sight-seeing, show-seeing, cafe-eating and meandering throughout the city. I would say some of my favourite things were: Seeing Idina Menzel in If/Then, Central Park, Comedy Clubs, going to the top of the Rockefeller Centre as the sun was setting and then having drinks at the bar below, The High Line park. Realized very soon into the trip that there is no possible way that we could see half of the things we wanted to see and so we just have to go back! 

The Workshop in Toronto – I had the chance to go to a workshop on teaching poetry at a fancy school in Toronto. Geek right? Anyway it was one of the highlights of my summer for sure. I had the chance to meet some really cool people, learn a lot about my own teaching, and meet the most amazing workshop leader. She totally inspired me and encouraged me and I kind of feel like I met the teacher I never had. Also– I ended up bringing my mom with me and we had a great time when I wasn’t in the workshop. Really nice to hang out together and wander the streets of Toronto. Went to a Blue Jays game too! I really saw the city through new eyes and think it’s just a great place!

Chicago! – My sister and I went to Chicago mainly for the Sara Bareilles concert but also to see the sights. It was my first time there as well. What a city! So different from New York but so incredible as well. We stayed in a beautiful boutique hotel right in the middle of things. Loved the Architecture Tour by boat, the eating and shopping, and of course Sara Bareilles was mind-blowing! One of the best concerts I’ve seen in ages and ages. 

The Cottage – A family friend lent us a cottage for a week along Lake Erie. It was perfect. Comfortable and beautiful. So nice to hang out with my sister and parents. Lots of walking, a bit of swimming, tons of reading, and just an overall lovely time. I also went “offline” that week which was a very good and healthy experience. I’ll write more about that sometime later. 

So I took some trips and between those I had a great time catching up with friends. Dinners and coffees and lots of big chats. Really a great time connecting with friends. There is something so refreshing when it comes to hanging out with people who have known me longer than 10 years. It’s nice to be back with “my people”. I also really enjoyed lots of good family time, some beach days and just general enjoying being back in my Home and Native Land. 

And so I go back to Japan and while I leave with a sad heart, I also leave with a happy heart. 

Winnie the Pooh says it best:

“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard”

Leave a Reply

